6 Tips for Chakra Meditation

by | Dec 7, 2015 | Wellness | 0 comments

We believe in transparency, so we want to let you know up front that we may have affiliate links in this post. Affiliate links allow us to support the site and create great content at no cost to you.

3 min read

Introduction to Chakra Meditation

The word chakra is actually a Sanskrit word that means wheel, but when we’re talking about yoga, meditation, and alternative healing, we’re not talking about wheels. We’re talking about the chakras in our body.

Chakras are passages and portals for your body’s energy. Each chakra in the human body is a wheel of rotating and revolving energy. There are seven major chakras – plus many minor chakras – that run from the base of your spine to the crown of the head, and each chakra represents different aspects of your mind, body and soul.

  1. The 1st chakra is connected to large intestine, anus, and also impacts kidney function. It is located at the base of your spine.
  2. The 2nd chakra is connected to the reproduction system, genitals, bladder, and kidneys. This chakra is located at your naval.
  3. Your 3rd chakra is connected to gall bladder, spleen, liver, small intestine, and stomach. This chakra is at your solar plexus.
  4. The 4th chakra is associated with the heart and arms. This chakra is at your heart.
  5. The 5th chakra is associated with throat, and lungs, and is located at the throat.
  6. The 6th chakra is associated with the face, nose area, eyes, and brain. This chakra is located in between your eyebrows.
  7. The 7th chakra is related to the whole being, and does not correspond to any particular organ. This chakra is located at the crown of your head.

It is believed your 1st chakra (the root chakra) has the slowest revolving speed while you’re 7th chakra (at the crown of your head) revolves the quickest.

Activating your chakras can be used to help alleviate a lot of different ailments, from heart diseases, stomach problems, and even mental health. When we activate (and overtime align) our chakras, we are bringing our body’s energy back into balance. Chakras can be activated through physical activities, meditation, and yoga.

The rest of this article is about getting started with chakra activating meditation.

1. Familiarise yourself with the chakras.

To achieve self healing and development, you must understand the basic 7 chakras and how they work. You also need to know what they represent and how they link to different areas of the body.

2. Set aside a time and a dedicated place to meditate.

You also need to set up a peaceful space where you can focus on this meditation. A large chart of the chakras may be helpful. A chart is used by a lot of people to help them focus on a particular chakra. You could also have colored candles, stones, or cloth to hold or light to help you picture the different chakras in your mind.

3. Keep this meditation to yourself.

This is to prevent ridicule from your peers or family which may then cause you to lose your faith and determination to proceed. Only when they see the difference in you and ask, you can freely do so.

4. Be patient, and consistent.

Everybody’s response to this meditation is different as they have their own unique problems. One person may feel the effects instantly, while for others it may take weeks or months as their chakras may be completely out of alignment. Results may take time and even after realignment, they need regular maintenance to keep them that way. Chakra alignment is as a lifetime commitment.

5. Set a goal.

You should always have a purpose, whether this is to help heal certain parts of your body, or the put your chakras into balance.

6. Be humble.

You are doing this meditation to improve your life, wellness, and health. You’re not doing this to become better than everyone else, or more interesting. (And if you are, you’re doing it for the wrong reasons.) If people start noticing the difference in your appearance, your overall outlook on life, or that your illnesses start going away, do not brag about it. This can put the chakras out of alignment.

20 Minute Chakra Meditation

Get started aligning your chakras with this free 20 minute chakra meditation.

Yoga Poses for a Bulging Disc

Yoga Poses for a Bulging Disc

Photo by Chermiti Mohamed on Unsplash. Many people suffer from bulging discs, but aren’t quite sure how to deal with them. While they often cause irritation, sometimes it’s not enough to need surgery or medications. One of the best ways to help deal with and even fix...

5 Healthy Benefits of Green Tea That You Probably Didn’t Know

5 Healthy Benefits of Green Tea That You Probably Didn’t Know

Originally published 19 May 2017 A lot can be said for Chinese medicine and their use of natural remedies to maintain health and wellness. What is just now being discovered is that there are some other, but just as important, benefits of green tea that can be key to living a long and healthy life. […]

8 Awesome Benefits of Yoga

8 Awesome Benefits of Yoga

Yoga can be beneficial for men, women and children of all ages. Although it’s been practiced since the sixth century B.C., yoga has recently been gaining an increasing amount of attention across all lifestyles due to its many health benefits. Although some practice yoga for spiritual purposes, many modern participants are most interested in the […]

Yoga Mats: What are they, and do you need one?

Yoga Mats: What are they, and do you need one?

There are literally thousands of yoga mats on the market, and all of these choices can be difficult for a beginner yogi to wrap their head around. You may see all these dozens of yoga mats and feel paralysed by all the choices, and then you find yourself wondering,...


Get 3 Months on Kindle for just $1



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


↞ Get On Your Mat