6 Tips for Chakra Meditation

by Dec 7, 2015Wellness0 comments

Introduction to Chakra Meditation

The word chakra is actually a Sanskrit word that means wheel, but when we’re talking about yoga, meditation, and alternative healing, we’re not talking about wheels. We’re talking about the chakras in our body.

Chakras are passages and portals for your body’s energy. Each chakra in the human body is a wheel of rotating and revolving energy. There are seven major chakras – plus many minor chakras – that run from the base of your spine to the crown of the head, and each chakra represents different aspects of your mind, body and soul.

  1. The 1st chakra is connected to large intestine, anus, and also impacts kidney function. It is located at the base of your spine.
  2. The 2nd chakra is connected to the reproduction system, genitals, bladder, and kidneys. This chakra is located at your naval.
  3. Your 3rd chakra is connected to gall bladder, spleen, liver, small intestine, and stomach. This chakra is at your solar plexus.
  4. The 4th chakra is associated with the heart and arms. This chakra is at your heart.
  5. The 5th chakra is associated with throat, and lungs, and is located at the throat.
  6. The 6th chakra is associated with the face, nose area, eyes, and brain. This chakra is located in between your eyebrows.
  7. The 7th chakra is related to the whole being, and does not correspond to any particular organ. This chakra is located at the crown of your head.

It is believed your 1st chakra (the root chakra) has the slowest revolving speed while you’re 7th chakra (at the crown of your head) revolves the quickest.

Activating your chakras can be used to help alleviate a lot of different ailments, from heart diseases, stomach problems, and even mental health. When we activate (and overtime align) our chakras, we are bringing our body’s energy back into balance. Chakras can be activated through physical activities, meditation, and yoga.

The rest of this article is about getting started with chakra activating meditation.

1. Familiarise yourself with the chakras.

To achieve self healing and development, you must understand the basic 7 chakras and how they work. You also need to know what they represent and how they link to different areas of the body.

2. Set aside a time and a dedicated place to meditate.

You also need to set up a peaceful space where you can focus on this meditation. A large chart of the chakras may be helpful. A chart is used by a lot of people to help them focus on a particular chakra. You could also have colored candles, stones, or cloth to hold or light to help you picture the different chakras in your mind.

3. Keep this meditation to yourself.

This is to prevent ridicule from your peers or family which may then cause you to lose your faith and determination to proceed. Only when they see the difference in you and ask, you can freely do so.

4. Be patient, and consistent.

Everybody’s response to this meditation is different as they have their own unique problems. One person may feel the effects instantly, while for others it may take weeks or months as their chakras may be completely out of alignment. Results may take time and even after realignment, they need regular maintenance to keep them that way. Chakra alignment is as a lifetime commitment.

5. Set a goal.

You should always have a purpose, whether this is to help heal certain parts of your body, or the put your chakras into balance.

6. Be humble.

You are doing this meditation to improve your life, wellness, and health. You’re not doing this to become better than everyone else, or more interesting. (And if you are, you’re doing it for the wrong reasons.) If people start noticing the difference in your appearance, your overall outlook on life, or that your illnesses start going away, do not brag about it. This can put the chakras out of alignment.

20 Minute Chakra Meditation

Get started aligning your chakras with this free 20 minute chakra meditation.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recommended Reading